Elizabeth Jane Howard

(b. 1923)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1923– ),

novelist and short‐story writer, born in London. She was an actress and model before becoming a full‐time writer. Her third marriage, dissolved in 1983, was to the writer Kingsley Amis. Her first novel, The Beautiful Visit (1950), was set during the First World War and its aftermath. Well crafted and strongly evocative of place and time, her novels of English middle‐class life have continued to attract a large readership. They include After Julius (1965), Odd Girl Out (1975), Getting It Right (1982), and Falling (1999). The Light Years (1990), Marking Time (1991), and Confusion (1993) form the linked saga of the Cazalet family. A collection of short stories, Mr Wrong (1975), contains her well‐known ghost story ‘Three Miles Up’ (first pub. 1951). She has also written plays for television, including adaptations of her own work. Slipstream (2002) is a memoir.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.