Irving Howe


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


professor at Hunter College (1963–) and literary and social critic. His books include Sherwood Anderson: A Critical Biography (1951); William Faulkner: A Critical Study (1952, revised 1962); Politics and the Novel: A World More Attractive (1963); Steady Work (1966), essays on the politics of democratic radicalism; Thomas Hardy (1967); The Decline of the New (1969), a study of the decline of modernism in literature; The Critical Point (1973), literary essays; World of Our Fathers (1976, National Book Award), about the experiences of East European Jews in the U.S.; Leon Trotsky (1978); and Celebrations and Attacks (1979), a collection of occasional writings. A Margin of Hope (1982) is subtitled “An Intellectual Biography.”

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.