Hua Guofeng


Related Overviews

Mao Zedong (1893—1976) Chinese statesman

Zhou Enlai (1898—1976) Chinese Communist statesman, Prime Minister of China 1949–76

Gang of Four

Deng Xiaoping (1904—1997) Chinese communist statesman

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Contemporary History (Post 1945)


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Chinese Premier 1976–80 Born in Shanxi province, he joined the Long March in 1936, and served for twelve years under Zhu De in the 8th Route Army. He became Deputy Governor of Hunan province (1958–1967) and survived the Cultural Revolution strengthened, as chairman of the Hunan Provincial Revolutionary Committee. He became a member of the Politburo in 1973, and succeeded Zhou Enlai as Premier. On the death of Mao Zedong he defeated the Gang of Four in October 1976, becoming Chairman of the Central Committee. However, his power declined in proportion to the rise of his rival, Deng Xiaoping. In 1981 he was replaced as Chairman of the Central Committee by one of Deng's protégés, Hu Yaobang. He remained a member of the Central Committee until 2002.

Subjects: Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.