Richard Hugo


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Seattle-born poet and the director of creative writing at the University of Montana (1964–82). His poetry concentrates on bleak views of derelict towns in his native Northwest, yet in his first book, A Run of Jacks (1961), he apostrophizes the region's fish and in his third, Good Luck in Cracked Italian (1969), he recalls the Italy he knew in the air corps during wartime. Other books include Death of the Kapowsin Tavern (1965), The Lady in Kicking Horse Reservoir (1973), What Thou Lovest Well, Remains American (1975), 31 Letters and 13 Dreams (1977), which is partly epistles addressed to other contemporary poets, Selected Poems (1979), White Center (1980), The Right Madness on Skye (1980), Sea Lanes Out (1983), and Making Certain It Goes On (1984), his collected poems. The Triggering Town (1979) prints lectures and essays on poetry. He also wrote under his own name a detective story, Death and the Good Life (1981).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.