William Humphrey


'William Humphrey' can also refer to...

William Humphrey (c. 1742—1809) engraver and printseller


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Quick Reference


born in the east Texas area of the Red River, the setting of most of his fiction. His novels are Home from the Hill (1958), about a family whose men are hunters and live and die by the bloody code of their region; The Ordways (1965), a larger family chronicle of four generations from Tennessee to Texas; and Proud Flesh (1973), portraying the matriarch of a cotton-raising family. The Last Husband (1953) and A Time and a Place (1968) collect stories. The Spawning Run (1971) and My Moby Dick (1978) are accounts of Humphrey's fishing for sport, and Farther Off from Heaven (1977) is a memoir of his youth.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries