immune system

Quick Reference

The organs responsible for immunity. The primary lymphoid organs are the thymus and the bone marrow; the secondary lymphoid organs are the lymph nodes and lymphoid aggregates (spleen, tonsils, gastrointestinal lymph tissue, and Peyer’s patches).

Subjects: Medicine and Health.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »