India Acts

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

British parliamentary Acts for the government of India. The Act for the Better Government of India (1858) replaced rule by the English East India Company by that of the crown. The viceroy would be assisted by a Council, which from 1861 was to have Indian as well as European members. The India Act (1909) allowed Indians a share in the work of legislative councils (Morley-Minto Reforms). The Government of India Act (1919) following the Montagu-Chelmsford Proposals, established a two-chamber legislature at the centre, enlarged provincial legislatures, and gave both an elected majority. Central government remained under the control of the viceroy's Executive Council, but in the provinces a measure of self-government was conceded through the system known as dyarchy. The Government of India Act (1935) separated Burma from India, and provided for provincial autonomy in British India, a federation of Indian princes, and for a dual system of government at the centre based on the principle of dyarchy. The provisions of this Act were never fully implemented.

Subjects: World History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.