Indonesian Revolution

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Nationalist struggle for independence from Dutch rule in Indonesia. In 1945, Sukarno proclaimed Indonesia's independence. Attempts by the Dutch to re-establish their colonial administration led to fighting which was temporarily brought to an end by a compromise agreement (1946). This provided for the establishment of a United States of Indonesia tied to the Netherlands under a federal constitution. But the nationalists refused to accept this, forcing the Dutch to launch a new offensive which recaptured most of the estate areas and ended in a ceasefire in 1947. A second Dutch ‘police action’ a year later increased international pressure and forced the Dutch to convene a conference at The Hague in 1949. As a result, all of the Dutch East Indies, with the exception of western New Guinea, were transferred to the new state of Indonesia in 1949. Western New Guinea (now Irian Jaya) came under Indonesian administration in 1963.

Subjects: World History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.