Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

In an elaboration of the usual five senses (indriyas), Sāṃkhya ontology posits five sense capacities, or ‘organs of knowledge’ (buddhīndriyas), and five motor organs or ‘organs of action’ (karmendriyas), which it regards, along with manas, as evolutes of ahaṃkāra.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.