Institute of Chartered Accountants

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Any of the three professional accountancy bodies in the UK, the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland, and the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland. The institutes are separate but recognize similar codes of practice. The largest is the England and Wales institute, with some 125 000 members, who are identified by the letters ACA or FCA (as are members of the Ireland institute; in Scotland members use the letters CA). The institutes ensure high standards of education and training in accountancy, provide qualification by examination, and supervise professional conduct in the service of clients and of the public. They are members of the Consultative Committee of Accountancy Bodies, whose Accounting Standards Committee is responsible for drafting accounting standards. See also chartered accountant.

http://www.icaew.co.uk/ Website of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales: provides technical information, advice on training and careers, and help in finding a chartered accountant

Subjects: Financial Institutions and Services.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.