Jain cosmology

Related Overviews


'Jain cosmology' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Religion


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Jains (see Jainism) believe in a three-part cosmos comprised of upper, middle, and lower worlds. At the bottom are seven hells for people whose lives were marked by bad karman (see Karman). Divinites live in the upper world. The middle world is a place where the individual can learn to be awakened and liberated. At the center of the Middle World is Mount Mandara or Meru (see Meru). Like the Brahmanic (see Brāhmaṇas) cosmology, which it generally resembles, the Jain system recognizes a cosmic cyclical time made up of kalpas or recurring ages.

Subjects: Religion.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.