Elizabeth Jennings

(1926—2001) poet

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


poet; her early poems appeared in several collections and in Robert Conquest's New Lines (1956). Her subsequent volumes of verse (e.g. Recoveries, 1964; The Mind has Mountains, 1966) are highly personal and confessional accounts of mental breakdown and hospital treatment. Her Collected Poems (1967, revised and extended 1987) were followed by several more volumes, including Lucidities (1970) and Moments of Grace (1979), which manifested her quiet and sensitive control of experiences of suffering, loneliness, friendship, and religious faith. Other volumes include Extending the Territory (1985), Tributes (1989), and Familiar Spirits (1994). Her Collected Poems were published in 2002.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.