Sarah Orne Jewett


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


American novelist and short‐story writer. Her volumes include Deephaven (1877), A Country Doctor (1884), A White Heron (1886; short stories), and The Country of the Pointed Firs (1896). Her precise, realistic, subdued portraits of ordinary New England people and her sense of community have won her an enduring reputation.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Sarah Orne Jewett

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.