Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A volume of ten poems by R. Browning, published 1883. The volume contains the much‐parodied lyric ‘Wanting is—what?’, an exquisite miniature of Browning's whole philosophy of art as a mode of desire.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Robert Browning (1812—1889) poet

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.