Diane Johnson

(b. 1934)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1934– ),

American novelist and biographer, born in Illinois and educated at the universities of Utah and California. Her ironic and observant novels, many of which have a hint of thriller suspense, include Fair Game (1965); The Shadow Knows (1972); Persian Nights (1987); Health and Happiness (1990); and Le Divorce (1997), Le Mariage (2002), and L'Affaire (2003), a Jamesian trilogy of manners set in Paris. She has also written an innovative feminist life of Mary Ellen Peacock, wife of G. Meredith (Lesser Lives, 1972), and a life of D. Hammett (1983).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.