Josephine Johnson

(b. 1910)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Missouri author, whose works include Now in November (1934, Pulitzer Prize), a realistic novel of drudgery on a Midwestern farm; Winter Orchard (1935), a collection of short stories; Jordanstown (1937), the story of a young Midwesterner who during the Depression edits a newspaper in a vain attempt to help the oppressed; Year's End (1937), a volume of poetry; Wildwood (1946), a novel of a frustrated young girl's upbringing in the home of relatives; The Dark Traveler (1963), about the rehabilitation of a schizophrenic young man; and The Sorcerer's Son (1965), stories. The Inland Island (1969), observations about nature, is also a critical view of contemporary America. Seven Houses (1973) is a memoir.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.