Glyn Jones

(1905—1995) poet and writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Welsh poet, short‐ story writer, and novelist, born in Merthyr Tydfil, Glamorgan, which he made the setting for many of his stories and novels. He drew on his experience of teaching at primary schools in Cardiff in writing The Dream of Jake Hopkins (1944), a long poem for radio, and The Learning Lark (1960), which pillories the widespread corruption in teaching appointments in South Wales. His Collected Poems (ed. Meic Stephens) appeared in 1996 and his volumes of short stories The Blue Bed (1937), The Water Music (1944), and Welsh Heirs (1977) were edited by Tony Brown and published as Collected Short Stories (1998). His novels are The Valley, the City, the Village (1956) and The Island of Apples (1965). His semi‐autobiographical book The Dragon Has Two Tongues (1968) is a seminal account of Welsh writing in English.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.