Gwyn Jones

(1907—1999) writer and viking scholar

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Welsh short‐story writer and novelist, born in Blackwood, Monmouthshire, a collier's son. He was editor of the of the Welsh Review (1939–48), and Professor of English at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth, and at University College, Cardiff. Of his many works of scholarship, A History of the Vikings brought him international acclaim. His most important novels are Richard Savage (1935), Times Like These (1936), A Garland of Bays (1938), and The Flowers beneath the Scythe (1952). His Selected Short Stories appeared in 1974 and his Collected Stories in 1997. With his colleague Thomas Jones he translated The Mabinogion, first published by the Golden Cockerel Press in 1948 (new edn, Everyman, 1993). He also edited The Oxford Book of Welsh Verse in English (1977).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.