David James Jones

(1899—1968) poet and literary scholar

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1899–1968), Welsh-language poet, author, and critic: b. Pontardawe; educ. Aberystwyth (University College of Wales); lecturer and Reader in Welsh at Aberystwyth 1927–67; lives in Aberystwyth 1927–68 and is buried there; commemorated in Pontardawe. ‘Y Mynach’ (The Monk) 1926, ‘Breuddwyd y Bardd’ (The Poet's Dream) 1931, Ysgubau'r Awen (Sheaves of the Muse) 1939, Cnoi Cil (Ruminating) 1942, Eples (Leaven) 1951, Gwreiddiau (Roots) 1959, Y Coed (Trees) 1969 .

From The Oxford Guide to Literary Britain and Ireland in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.