Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt.; Pāli).

The Desire Realm; the lowest of the Three Realms (dhātu), and the one which forms a large part of saṃsāra as it contains the first five of the six modes of existence, namely the hells.hungry ghosts (preta), animals.humans, and asuras.together with the lower gods who form part of the sixth mode of existence. See also cosmology; bhavacakra.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.