Giya Kancheli

(b. 1935)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Tbilisi, 1935).

Georgian composer. On staff Tbilisi Cons. from 1970. Influenced by jazz and by Copland and Crumb. Prin. works: syms.: No.1 (1967), No.2 (1970), No.3, with ten. (1973), No.4 (1974), No.5 (1977), No.6 (1980), No.7 (1983); Concerto for Orchestra (1962); Largo and Allegro, str., pf., timp. (1963); The Pranks of Hanum, mus. comedy (1973); Music for the Living, multi‐media opera (1984); Sweet Sadness, boys' ch., orch. (1985); va. conc. (Mourned by the Wind) (1989), version for vc., orch. (1996); Night Prayers, str. qt., tape (1992); Psalm 23, sop., chamber orch. (1993); Magnum ignotum, wind, db., tape (1994); vc. conc. (1995); Valse Boston, pf., str. (1996); Time…and Again, vn., va., vc. (1998); And Farewell Goes Out Sighing…, counterten., vn., orch. (1999); Ergo, orch. (2000); much music for theatre and films (incl. The Gladiator, 1983).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.