Sidney Keyes

(1922—1943) poet

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


poet. He edited, with Michael Meyer, Eight Oxford Poets (1941), which contains some of his own work. His first collection, The Iron Laurel (1942), appeared in the year he joined the army. His second, The Cruel Solstice, appeared in 1943, after his presumed death in Tunisia. His Collected Poems, with a Memoir by M. Meyer, appeared in 1945. H. Read described his characteristic note as ‘elegiac’.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.