John Knowles


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


West Virginia-born author, educated at Yale, whose novels include A Separate Peace (1960), reminiscences of the unhappy experiences of boys at a New England boarding school; Morning in Antibes (1962), depicting Americans on the French Riviera; Indian Summer (1966), presenting the uneasy relations of two men; The Paragon (1971), a portrait of a brilliant, iconoclastic college student during the Korean War; Spreading Fires (1974), a psychological thriller set in the south of France; A Vein of Riches (1979), about the waning fortunes of a West Virginia family made rich by coal mining; Peace Breaks Out (1980), a sequel to his first novel, treating malevolence that leads to murder at a boys' boarding school; and A Stolen Past (1983), a reminiscent tale of college friendships. Phineas (1968) collects stories, and Double Vision (1964) is a travel book.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.