Joonas Kokkonen


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Iisalmi, Finland, 1921; d Järvenpää, 1996).

Finn. composer and pianist. Teacher, Sibelius Acad. 1950–9 (prof. of orch. 1959–63). Wrote mus. criticism 1947–63. Works incl. 5 syms.; vc. conc.; 3 str. qts.; pf. trio; pf. qt.; vc. sonata; Missa a cappella; Symphonic Sketches; opera The Last Temptations (1975); Requiem (1981).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.