Lateran Councils

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A series of councils held at the Lateran Palace in Rome from the 7th to the 18th cent.; five of them rank as oecumenical in the W. Church. The First (1123) ratified the Concordat of Worms ending the Investiture contest; the Second (1139) condemned the followers of Arnold of Brescia; the Third (1179) regulated Papal elections; the Fourth (1215) defined Eucharistic doctrine (for the first time officially using the word ‘transubstantiate’) and prescribed annual confession; the Fifth (1512–17) invalidated the decrees of the anti-papal Council of Pisa convoked by Louis XII of France.

Subjects: Medieval and Renaissance History (500 to 1500) — Christianity.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.