Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The name popularly given to the ‘Congregation of the Mission’, a congregation of secular priests living under religious vows, founded by St Vincent de Paul in 1625. The name comes from the priory of St-Lazare, which was Vincent's headquarters in Paris.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.