Leeds Piano Competition

'Leeds Piano Competition' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Music


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

International competition for pianists est. 1963 by Fanny Waterman and Marion Thorpe (then Lady Harewood). Held triennially. Winners have been Michael Roll (1963), Rafael Orozco (1966), Radu Lupu (1969), Murray Perahia (1972), Dmitri Alexeev (1975), Michel Dalberto (1978), Ian Hobson (1981), Jon Kimura Parker (1984), Vladimir Ovchinnikov (1987), Artur Pizarro (1990), Ricardo Castro (1993), Ilya Itin (1996), Alessio Bax (2000), Antti Siirala (2003), Sunwook Kim (2006). Many pianists who have come second in the Leeds comp. have had international careers, including Viktoria Postnikova (1966), Craig Sheppard (1972), and Mitsuko Uchida (1975, when Andras Schiff was joint 3rd and Myung‐Whun Chung joint 4th!). In 1981 Peter Donohoe was placed 6th.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.