Ursula K. Le Guin

(b. 1929)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1929– )

American novelist and short‐story writer, born in Berkeley, California. She has published many works of science fiction and fantasy, and her works have been widely admired for their distinguished prose, as well as their imagination and thoughtful speculations. They include the ‘Hainish’ trilogy (Rocannon's World, 1966; Planet of Exile, 1966 and City of Illusions, 1967) and the Earthsea series (beginning with A Wizard of Earthsea, 1968).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.