Philip Levine

(b. 1928)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Detroit-born poet, long resident in California as a professor at the state university campus, Fresno (1958–80), whose volumes of verse, including On the Edge (1963), Red Dust (1971), They Feed, They Lion (1972), 1933 (1974), The Names of the Lost (1976), Seven Years from Somewhere (1979), Ashes (1979), One for the Rose (1981), and Selected Poems (1984), have as major subjects the oppressed working class of the U.S. and the Spanish Civil War. Don't Ask (1981) contains interviews with Levine.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.