Liberal Catholic Church

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A body which seeks to combine the traditional Catholic sacramental system with freedom of belief and openness to theosophical ideas on reincarnation and the unity of all life. Its founders, James Ingall Wedgwood (1883–1951) and Charles Webster Leadbeater (1847–1934) were both theosophists who received consecration as bishops through the Old Catholic line of succession in 1916; Wedgwood was consecrated by F. S. Willoughby, who had been consecrated (and later disowned) by A. H. Mathew (q.v.); he consecrated Leadbeater. The Church has several thousand adherents, mainly in the USA, Australasia, Britain, and francophone Africa.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.