Liberal League

Related Overviews

Lord Rosebery (1847—1929) prime minister and author

Earl of Oxford and Asquith Herbert Asquith (1852—1928) prime minister

Charles Grey, 2nd Earl (1764—1845) prime minister

Edward Grey (1862—1933) politician, countryman, and author


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A political organization within the Liberal Party, founded in February 1902 with Lord Rosebery as president and including H. H. Asquith and Sir Edward Grey among its vice‐presidents. It succeeded in retaining within the Liberal Party some who considered leaving it over the party's cautious attitude to the Boer War. It was well represented in the Liberal government of 1905 (though not by its president).

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.