local government area

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Law


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

An area constituting a unit for local government purposes. The local government areas in England (except Greater London) are the county, the unitary authority, the district, and the parish. In certain parts of England unitary authorities were introduced to replace nonmetropolitan county and district councils between 1996 and 1998, which resulted in the reorganization of some local government areas. In Wales the areas are the county, the county borough, and the community; counties and county boroughs, which are administered by unitary authorities, replaced the two-tier system of counties and districts in April 1996.

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.