London Symphony Orchestra

Related Overviews

Hans Richter (1843—1916) conductor

Albert Coates (1882—1953) conductor and composer

Sir Hamilton Harty (1879—1941) conductor and composer

Josef Krips (1902—1974)

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


'London Symphony Orchestra' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Music


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Founded 1904, self‐governing from start, by players who seceded from Henry Wood's Queen's Hall Orch. because he banned the system of deputies (by which a player could unilaterally send a deputy to a concert while he took a more lucrative engagement). First concert Queen's Hall, London, 9 June 1904, cond. Richter, who remained prin. cond. until 1911. Toured USA 1912 cond. Nikisch. Also assoc. with Elgar as cond. (he was prin. cond. 1911–12). For many years was regular orch. at 3 Choirs Fests. Conductors have incl. Albert Coates and Harty. Those appointed prin. cond. since 2nd World War have been Josef Krips (1950–4), Pierre Monteux (1961–4), Istvan Kertész (1965–8), André Previn (1968–79), Claudio Abbado (1979–88), Michael Tilson Thomas (1988–95), Colin Davis (1995–2006), Valery Gergiev from 2006. Salzburg Fest. début 1973 (cond. Previn).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.