Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Founded 1919 with W. H. Rothwell as cond. 1919–27. Since Dec. 1964 has played in Dorothy Chandler Pavilion of Los Angeles Mus. Center. Gives summer concerts in Hollywood Bowl. Prin. cond.: Georg Schnéevoigt (1927–9), Artur Rodzinski (1929–33), Otto Klemperer (1933–9), Alfred Wallenstein (1943–56), Eduard van Beinum (1956–9), Zubin Mehta (1962–77), Carlo Maria Giulini (1978–84), André Previn (1986–9), Esa‐Pekka Salonen (2002–2009); Alan Gilbert from 2009. Toured Eur., Iran, and India under Mehta 1967.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.