lord president of the council

'lord president of the council' can also refer to...

lord president of the council

lord president of the council

lord president of the council

lord president of the council

Lord President of the Council

Fowler, Henry Hartley (1830 - 1911), PC 1886; DL; Lord President of the Council, 1908–10

Addison, Christopher (1869 - 1951), Lord President of the Council, March-October 1951; Chm. Medical Research Council, 1948; Leader of House of Lords, 1945–51

GRAYLING, Christopher (Stephen) (born 1962), PC 2010; MP (C) Epsom and Ewell, since 2001; Leader of the House of Commons and Lord President of the Council, since 2015

HOBDAY, Gordon (Ivan) (1916 - 2015), Lord Lieutenant and Keeper of the Rolls for Nottinghamshire, 1983–91; Chancellor, Nottingham University, 1979–92 (President of the Council, 1973–82)

CHAMBERLAIN, (Arthur) Neville (1869 - 1940), Lord President of the Council since 1940; MP (U) Ladywood Division of Birmingham, Dec. 1918–May 1929; Edgbaston Division since 1929

Charteris, Francis David (1912 - 2008), President, The National Trust for Scotland, 1967–91, then President Emeritus (Chairman of Council, 1946–69); Lord Clerk Register of Scotland and Keeper of the Signet, 1974–2007

Cripps, Charles Alfred (1852 - 1941), PC 1914; KCVO 1908; KC 1890; MA; Lord President of the Council, 1924 and 1929–31; British Representative on the Council of the League of Nations, Geneva, and Delegate of the British Empire to the Assembly, 1924; Leader of the House of Lords, 1929–31; Member of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council, specially appointed, 1914

EVANS, John Gwenogvryn (1852 - 1930), JP Carnarvonshire, 1910; editor of the Series of Old Welsh Texts; Inspector of Documents in the Welsh Language for the Hist. MSS Commission, 1894–1906; nominated Governor and Member of the Council of the National Library of Wales by the Lord President of the Privy Council

LETHBRIDGE, Roper (1840 - 1919), DL, JP, Devon, and JP Kent; Lord of the Manor of Exbourne; patron of one living; President of Anti-Tea-Duty League; President of the Devonshire Association for 1901; member of the Exeter Diocesan Board of Education, and of the Standing Committee of the Exeter Diocesan Conference; Chairman of Council of the Devon and Cornwall Record Society; Vice-President of the Okehampton Agricultural Society; Commissioner for Income Tax appeals, Okehampton; Vice-President of Tariff Reform League, and Chairman of Devonshire Branch of League

BUSHBY, Geoffrey Henry (1899 - 1935), Lord of the Manor and Patron of Living, Wormley; Lord of the following manors: Avon Wallia, Borough of Avon, Borough of Neath, Neath Citra, Briton, Tyryalt; Member of Herts County Council since 1931; Member of Greater London Town Planning Committee since 1933; President of Hoddesdon Unionist Club since 1933

NEWMAN-MORRIS, John (1879 - 1957), Receiver-General, Priory of St John in Australia; Cons. Surgeon, St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne; National Council Australian Red Cross Society; Pres. Medical Board of Victoria; Member of Council of Australian Flying Doctor Service (1st President, 1936–38); of Council of the University of Melbourne; of Executive of the Lord Mayor’s Fund; President, Old People’s Welfare Council; Vice-Pres. Victorian Soc. for Crippled Children; President Medical Defence Assoc.; Chm. Brit. Med. Ince. Co.; Chm. Automobile Fire & Gen. Insce. Co.; Trustee Med. Soc. of Victoria; Council of British Medical Association (Chairman for 17 years); Vice-Pres., Royal Empire Society (Pres. Victorian Branch)

Harris, James Edward (1872 - 1950), DL, JP, a Lord in Waiting to King George V, 1922–24; Provincial Grand Master (Masonic) of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight since 1923; a County Alderman of Hampshire County Council since 1906, and Chairman, 1927–38; President of County Councils’ Association 1931–33; Hon. Treasurer Anti-Socialist Union since 1917

Scott, Walter Francis John Montagu Douglas (1923 - 2007), Hon. Captain RNR; President of the Council, the Queen’s Body Guard for Scotland, Royal Company of Archers, 1996–2001; Lord-Lieutenant of Roxburgh, 1974–98, of Ettrick and Lauderdale, 1975–98; Chancellor, Order of the Thistle, since 1992

Rous, George Edward John Mowbray (1862 - 1947), JP; VD, TD, MA, Lord-Lieutenant for the County of Suffolk, since 1935; Vice-Admiral of Suffolk, since 1890; Knight of Grace of St John; for 32 years Councillor, Alderman, for 12 years Chairman East Suffolk County Council, and Chairman County of Suffolk Territorial Army Association; formerly ADC to King Edward VII (1902–11) and to King George V (1911–29) and President, National Sea Fisheries Protection Association; President of the Council, National Artillery Association


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A regular member of the cabinet for much the same reasons as the lord privy seal—it is useful to the prime minister to have ministers whose duties are small and who can be asked to undertake special responsibilities or fill the role of elder statesmen. The office originated in Tudor times when the Privy Council was evolving from the medieval council.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.