Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Louisiana has been governed under ten different flags, beginning in 1541 with Hernando de Soto's claim of the greater region for Spain. The French explorer Sieur de La Salle was ...

Subjects: United States History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.