lupus nephritis

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A frequent and serious complication of systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE). The 2002 WHO/ISN/RPS classification of lupus nephritis recognizes six classes: class I is the presence of mesangial deposits (see juxtaglomerular apparatus) seen on immunofluorescence and/or electron microscopy; class II is the presence of mesangial deposits and mesangial hypercellularity; class III is focal and segmental glomerulonephritis; class IV is diffuse segmental or global nephritis; class V is membranous nephropathy; and class VI is advanced sclerotic glomerulonephritis. Untreated, outcomes are poor in classes III and IV, but much improved with immunosuppressant treatment.

Subjects: Medicine and Health.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.