Lyra Apostolica

Related Overviews

R. H. Froude (1803—1836) Church of England clergyman

John Keble (1792—1866) Church of England clergyman and poet

John Henry Newman (1801—1890) theologian and cardinal

Isaac Williams (1802—1865) poet and theologian

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


'Lyra Apostolica' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A collection of 179 sacred poems, published 1836, contributed originally to the British Magazine. The poems appeared anonymously; the six authors, all associated with the Oxford Movement, were each designated by a Greek letter: J. W. Bowden (α), R. H. Froude (β), Keble (γ), Newman (δ), R. I. Wilberforce (ε), and I. Williams (ζ).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.