Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

According to Sāṃkhya ontology, the five mahābhūtas, or ‘gross material elements’, are the final evolutes of prakṛti. They consist of ether (space), air (wind), fire, water, and earth.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.