Related Overviews


'mahājanapadas' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Buddhism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Pāli). The sixteen states or political entities that according to tradition existed at the time of the Buddha. They were Kāsī.Kosala.Aṇga.Magadha.Vajji.Malla.Cetiya, Vaṃsa, Kuru.Pañcāla.Maccha, Sūrasena, Assaka, Avanti.Gandhāra.and Kamboja. The first fourteen are included in the ‘central region’ (Pāli, Majjhimadesa), while the last two are part of the ‘northern territory’ (uttarāpatha).

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.