Derek Mahon

(b. 1941)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1941– ),

poet, born in Belfast, educated at Trinity College, Dublin. In the 1960s he became associated, together with Seamus Heaney and Michael Longley, with the group known as the ‘Northern Poets’. His poetry, often bleak and uncompromising in its portrayal of urban squalor and deprivation, includes Twelve Poems (1965), Night‐Crossing (1968), The Snow Party (1975), The Hunt by Night (1982), A Kensington Notebook (1984), and Antarctica (1985). Later collections include Collected Poems (2000), Selected Poems (2001), and Harbour Lights (2005). He has also translated Molière's School for Wives (1986) and the Bacchae of Euripides (1991).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.