Main Committees

'Main Committees' can also refer to...

Main Committees

THIMONT, Bernard Maurice (1920 - 2005), Secretary, Churches’ Main Committee, 1981–90

HOWARD, Stephen (Goodwin) (1867 - 1934), DL; JP; Chairman of the Cambridgeshire County Council Main Roads Committee, and also Standing Joint Committee; 2nd Vol. Batt. Cambridgeshire Regt

TAYLOR THOMPSON, (John) Derek (1927 - 2014), Commissioner of Inland Revenue, 1973–87; Secretary, Churches’ Main Committee, 1990–2007

BROMLEY, Thomas Eardley (1911 - 1987), HM Diplomatic Service, retired; Secretary, Churches Main Committee, December 1970–72

MAIN, David (1861 - 1941), retired; Chairman Cumberland Territorial Army Association, 1922–37; Chairman of Joint Committee of Cumberland and Westmorland Territorial Army Association, 1927–37

HIGGINS, (Sydney) George (1867 - 1947), a Shipowner; Director Wm France Fenwick & Co., Ltd; Committee London General Shipowners Society; Lloyd’s Register of Shipping; Director Denaby and Cadeby Main Collieries, Ltd, retd 1946; Vice-President King George’s Fund for Sailors

CHISHOLM, William Wilson (1854 - 1935), JP City of Sheffield; retired advisory editor of Sheffield Independent and Sheffield Mail, and Director of Sheffield Independent Press Co., Ltd; Chairman of Maltby Main Mine Disaster Relief Fund; Trustee of Sheffield Savings Bank; Chairman Convalescent and after care Committee of Sheffield Joint Hospitals Council; Member of Executive of National Trust controlling the Longshaw estate; Member of Committee of Allotments for Unemployed; Regional Member of British Hospitals Association; Member of Committee of Council for the Preservation of Rural England (Sheffield and Peak District); Member of Board of Sheffield Children’s Hospital; Chairman, Sheffield Council Social Service; President, Ecclesall Parliamentary Division Liberal Association


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • International Law


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The U.N. General Assembly conducts much of its work through six committees, consisting of the entire membership (sometimes referred to as mini-General Assemblies). At present, there are six Main Committees ...

Subjects: International Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.