Major Orders

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The higher grades of the Christian ministry, in contradistinction from the Minor Orders (q.v.). The Major Orders are now usually reckoned as those of bishops, priests, and deacons. In the past the subdiaconate was sometimes accounted a Major Order, the other two then being the diaconate and priesthood (including the episcopate).

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.