management cycle

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Archaeology


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


A heuristic model of archaeological practice applied in the field of spatial planning, Environmental Impact Assessment, and monument conservation. Six key stages to the cycle are identified: appraisal; desk‐based assessment; evaluation; strategy development and determination; execution of an agreed management plan or mitigation strategy; and review. The first three stages are referred to as ‘pre‐determination’ works and the final two stages are ‘post‐determination’ works.

Subjects: Archaeology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.