Allan Massie

(b. 1938)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1938– ),

novelist, critic, and reviewer, born in Singapore. His first novel, Change and Decay in All Around I See (1978), was followed by The Last Peacock (1980) and The Death of Men (1981), a thriller. A trilogy of novels set in imperial Rome, Augustus (1989), Tiberius (1990), and Caesar (1993), established him as one of the best historical novelists of his generation. Other novels include The Hanging Tree (1990), set in the 15th cent.; The Sins of the Father (1991), a love story set against the legacy of the Holocaust; These Enchanted Woods (1993), which presents a rags‐to‐riches love story set in rural Perthshire; King David (1995), about the biblical monarch; Nero's Heir (1999); and Evening of the World (2001), set in the 5th cent.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.