Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The name given to teaching institutions, or ‘monasteries’, particularly those said to have been founded by Śaṅkara. The latter, which are the monastic centres for the Daśanāmi order, were established at Purī, Jyotirmaṭh, Dvārakā, Śṛṅgeri, and—on some accounts— Kāñcī(puram). Each is under the headship of a Śaṅkarācārya.

Subjects: Hinduism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.