Matveyev's six phases

'Matveyev's six phases' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Sports and Exercise Medicine


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A training system based on six periods. Periods one and two are preparatory, consisting of general body conditioning and some specific training elements; periods three and four involve more competition-specific training, during which athletes take part in some early competitions and prepare for a peak performance; period five is the major competitive period during which athletes attempt to achieve their goals; and period six is a transition period in which the athletes recuperate from a competition season before preparing for the next season.

Subjects: Sports and Exercise Medicine.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.