Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Was long known to the Arabs. It was discovered by the Portuguese but settled by the Dutch who named it after Maurice of Nassau. The British captured it in 1810 and kept it as their own crown colony. Representative government was established in 1947 and Mauritius became independent within the Commonwealth in 1968.

Subjects: History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.