Glyn Maxwell

(b. 1962)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1962– ),

poet and dramatist. He followed his first collection, Tale of the Mayor's Son (1990), with Out of the Rain (1992) and Rest for the Wicked (1995). Bold and prolific, both his subject matter and his tone are vastly varied, ranging from classical myth to contemporary satire and surreal speculation. Many of the poems in The Breakage (1998) dwell on the First World War, including a sequence written in homage to E. Thomas. Later volumes include The Boys at Twilight (2000, a collection of early works), Time's Fool (2000), The Nerve (2002), and The Sugar Mile (2005). His novel Blue Burneau (1994) is a Ruritanian political fantasia set on the imaginary Island of Badeo. He has written several verse dramas, encouraged by Walcott: three of them were published as Gnyss the Magnificent (1995). Moon Country (1996) describes a journey to Iceland with S. Armitage.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.