John Maynard

(c. 1577—1628) lutenist and composer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1577–c.1615), English composer, lutenist, and lyra viol player. In 1600 he was appointed a commissary of muster in Ireland. In 1611 his XII Wonders of the World, which were settings of twelve satirical texts on well-known figures (the Courtier, the Lawyer) by Sir John Davies, were published; they are set for ‘viola da Gamba, the Lute and the Voice’.

From The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Early Modern History (1500 to 1700).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.